Change Your View

imageAt first glance, this doesn’t look like much. As a matter of fact, I have complained to my husband, several times that we were loosing ground to this vine!  One day, we noticed it was a muscadine vine, and at that moment all the complaining stopped! This year it has really put out. I have harvested about 4 gallons from this wonderful resource, and for the first time, I made some wonderful, delicious, organic, muscadine jelly. Now to someone else, this is not a big deal.  However for me, to be able to harvest, cook, and process my own jelly was very rewarding.  Mostly, because it took me back to my MeMe’s kitchen on a hot Mississippi summer day…..

I was just barely taller than the cook table in the kitchen.  My MeMe was making biscuits in a wooden bowl and letting me help roll them out.  I always asked to eat the dough, and she would warn me that if I ate too much dough, I would get worms.  Needless to say, I was horrified of that prospect, and kept the bites few.  As soon as the biscuits were ready, we took them out of the oven and immediately put butter and homemade jelly inside them.  We ate them on the spot. They were delicious.  Time moved much slower back then.

So you see, it was more than making jelly.  It was transporting me back in time to another kitchen, and a much smaller me! Who knew jelly could travel?😊

Yesterday, when I walked out to see if there were any grapes to harvest, at first glance only a couple were seen.  However, after walking behind the vine, into the arbor that it had created, the scene became alive with fruit!  I could hear the Lord whisper in my Spirit, “Sometimes, you just need a different view”.

image

And then, my favorite scriptures flooded my soul..

“I am the vine, you are the branches, if you remain in me, and I in you, you will bear much fruit. Apart from me, you can do nothing.”

I couldn’t help but wonder how many times we have questioned God, as to why we were stuck in a nonproductive state, when all the while we just needed a different view?  I don’t know about you, but for me and mine, to stay connected to the vine of Christ is all that matters.  I pursue him, because He is worth it! He gives so much more back.  His Peace is priceless, and his love unmatched! His name is Yeshua, the spotless lamb, that takes away the sin of the world.  I can’t wait to get to the Kingdom that He is preparing for us! The Bible says to be ready for his return, because we do not know the hour he comes. And that when he comes, he will take the ones that are watching and ready, and he will sit us down at his table, and he will put on an apron and serve us.  That’s the type of King I serve. The one who has given all, because He loves us so!  And because he knows we have struggled here, have felt the pain of loss and death, he will replace our tears with joy and laughter, and seat us at his table, and serve us. Oh if you think he doesn’t care what you are going through, you just need a different view.  Life deals some pretty tough blows.  He beckons us to fellowship with him, to come drink from the fountain of his Word, and let him refresh our spirits.  He calls for us to lay down the burdens and bondage of sin, and wash in the fountain of repentance, so that we can fellowship with The Father.  He says to be Holy because he is Holy.  Don’t look to the right or the left, look straight into the face of the one who gave it all just for you! You will gather and eat from vineyards that you didn’t plant, and dwell in houses that you didn’t build.  The walls of your house will resound with laughter and joy. Oh taste and see that The Lord is good! But I am telling you one thing is for sure, don’t fall for the lie of the enemy that a trip to a religious event a week will sit you at his table.  He is coming for the ones who are pursuing him. He is coming for the ones who have a living, breathing relationship with him, and the earth is anticipating this return like never before!  Steal away some quiet time just for him daily, and you will be forever changed! There is so much more to him than singing some words to a song you don’t mean, and sleeping through a sermon you didn’t hear.

He is alive.  He is speaking and He is very active!  He has gifts to pass out and is watching and waiting for you to receive them!! Do something different, CHANGE YOUR VIEW!

One thought on “Change Your View

Leave a Reply

