A Father’s Voice

 

My earthly daddy’s voice is easily distinguished. He has a very strong and deep voice. While growing up, if it was short and direct I knew that I was in deep trouble. He was not one to beat around the bush. He let you know what he wanted you to do, and always was close by to make sure you were doing just that! He also followed up on the chore to make sure you were doing the job with excellence. He was teaching me life long lessons that I now pass on to my kiddos. The bonus is He is still teaching at 81 to my 8 year old, some of those same lessons!

I love to hear my dad laugh. It’s a sound I heard a lot growing up. Even now when we are together, laughter is part of our ‘makeup’. Don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of things to be serious about, but who needs to be reminded of that?

However, this morning I needed to hear from my Heavenly Father. He has a way of speaking and making himself known as well. It was just one of those mornings when I cried out to my daddy and only His voice would do. As I tried to maneuver myself to hear him, it seemed I had missed the mark. Then ever so gently He began to speak. His tone was kind and familiar, as well as a reminder that I am not forgotten. That my father has a plan for me and it is for good and not for evil. That he’s ‘got this covered’! I may not get a detailed itinerary, which Webster describes as a planned route or journey, but I do get to be guided by The King of the Universe. I would prefer a detailed list so that I could be sure I am doing it right, but instead he guides me back to His Word. He assures me that if I will meditate on it day and night, I will not loose my way. His Wisdom will be my light. It is in those moments of being in His presence, that His glory ushers in The gift of Peace that envelopes you like a warm summer day. I am forever grateful for His love.
I love you Daddy!!

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. In those days when you pray, I will listen. If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.”
‭‭Jeremiah‬ ‭29:11-13‬ ‭NLT‬‬

 

*please add me to your Facebook page and share on Pinterest, Twitter, etc.

Leave a Reply

